Drop-kicking Sinners into a Lake of Fire

Hell 2

Norma Bruns’ “metaphorical meditation” on eternal damnation (below, post of 9/18/09) inspired me to search out some notable sermons about hellfire. Here are snippets from two that I found–one from the 18th century and the other from our own day:

From a sermon by 18th-century theologian John Wesley:

Is it not common to say to a child, “Put your finger into that candle: Can you bear it even for one minute? How then will you bear hell-fire?” Surely it would be torment enough to have the flesh burnt off from only one finger. What then will it be, to have the whole body plunged into a lake of fire burning with brimstone!

From a sermon by Pastor Deacon Fred, of the Landover Baptist Church:

It is very upsetting to have someone laugh in your face when you are trying to explain to them that if they don’t return Christ’s love and accept Him as their personal savior that they are going to be tortured and have all of the flesh burnt off their body every day for all of eternity in a literal lake of fire. So upsetting in fact, that when witnessing to an unsaved Lutheran the other day, I responded to his laughter by saying, “I can’t wait to see you burn in Hell!” He was taken aback, and quite shocked. I used this opportunity to witness even more. … “I can’t wait to see the look of surprise on your face as Jesus drop-kicks you off the cliff of glory into the lake of fire!” I exclaimed.

Visit the Landover Baptist Church, here.

UPDATE: I have learned since posting this piece that the quotation from Pastor Deacon Fred is satire and that the Landover Baptist Church website is a spoof. What does it say about fundamentalism in modern America that the most extreme parodies of it are nearly indistinguishable from the real thing! (See my posting of 6/16/09, “Fred Phelps’s Humor Deficit.”)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Drop-kicking Sinners into a Lake of Fire”

  1. JimmyBean Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, ๐Ÿ™‚

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. real estate mutual funds Says:

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

