Just Because He Breathes: Learning to Truly Love Our Gay Son

2013-06-21-ryanprofile1

by Linda Robertson

From Huffpost Gay Voices, 7/1/13

Now, when I think back on the fear that governed all my reactions during those first six years after Ryan told us he was gay, I cringe as I realize how foolish I was. I was afraid of all the wrong things. And I grieve, not only for my oldest son, whom I will miss every day for the rest of my life, but for the mistakes I made. I grieve for what could have been, had we been walking by faith instead of by fear. Now, whenever Rob and I join our gay friends for an evening, I think about how much I would love to be visiting with Ryan and his partner over dinner. But instead, we visit Ryan’s gravestone.

Continue reading this story.

Leave a Reply

